top of page

Is Solidcore worth it? (Review + Pros & Cons)

All about solidcore, a new workout class taking over Washington DC!

clothes and shoes

Welcome to the Carmen West Blog. Here, I will share my honest and truthful experience with Solidcore at the Navy Yard location.


About

There’s a whole lot to know about Solidcore. The fitness studio is a new version or taste of a Pilates reformer class.


For starters, the class is a 50 minute (give or take) full body fitness class with a small group of inviduals around 15 people per class (give or take) based on my experience.


Overall, the class focus varies class to class but the structure of the class duration consist of slow and controlled movements with lots and by lots I mean lots of tension.


The studio is worth the price for an occasional class here and there because of the small/intimate class sizes, slow and controlled movement and overall core tightness/transformation overtime. I would recommend taking a beginner Pilates class prior to jumping into SC because it’s straight up challenging not impossible by any means but I want to place an emphasis on challenging. The music is energetic and invigorating and the Navy Yard location hours are very work friendly by that I mean they are open daily from 5am to 9pm however, classes are typically 6am to noon and then reconvene after work and start back up at 4/4:30 and close for the evening at or around 9:00pm.


The main entrance of the Navy Yard location.


What To Expect

Straight up, I am not going to sit here and say oh the workout was a easy breezy because that would be a lie. The fifty (50) minute class kicked me straight in the rear and it was difficult. I took lots of breaks because my body was shaking based on the muscle intensity. With that being said, I did break a sweat but the reaction to my body solidified me registering for another class. The classes are considered “all levels” but I would not bother if you can’t hold a plank for at least 2 minutes. The machine has no resistance, light resistance, medium resistance, and heavy resistance.


All in all, if you’re nervous, I would do what you can and then take a break. Even with all the breaks I took, I still was tight in the core and felt proud of myself. I highly recommend telling the instructor that you are a beginner at pilates and to SC just so that they can keep an extra eye on you. The instructors at the SC in Navy Yard were super friendly and demonstrated the various movements throughout the class.


Atmosphere Vibe

The overall atmosphere is top tier. The room is dimly lit with blue accent lights. The room is complimented with blaring music that pumps you up entirely and get you movin’. I would say theres approximately 15 spots in the class and the trainer walks around the room the entire time giving you that personal attention and motivation. The class was fast, fun, and invigorating.

The Equipment

The main piece of equipment is the “Sweatlana” creates tension based on exercises performed. Also, you might occasionally lift weights here and there which are located under the machine.


The black machine is the “Sweatlana”.

Here are some of my personal pros and cons!

PROS:

  • Friendly instructors

  • Clean facility

  • Open before/after work

  • Classes are average in price

  • Access code to enter studio


CONS :

  • NO shower

  • One bathroom


How much does Solidcore cost?

Solid core varies in price based on location and time of the year that you are looking to start attending. Classes range from $15 to $315 per month. I would say that Solid Core is a franchise and any one location may choose to charge a little less or maybe even a little more, or might even run a special promotion from time to time to be most cost effective and to attract new individuals.

One class gets you:

  • Access to one singular class at the location of your choice

  • Great music

  • Great instructions

  • Great sweat/ burn

The Unlimited membership gets you:

  • Access to one singular class at the location of your choice

  • Bring a friend for $24/class

  • Max 1 class per day

  • 20% off retail (check the location to be sure of this discount)

The unlimited membership fee at Solid Core is around $307.97 per month give or take depending on taxes and fees.

A basic community class is $15 but this option is less frequent and depends upon new instructor demand. I opted to get the “New Client 2-class pack) which costed $40 bucks. The other two options that are similar in price is the “Buy 1 Get 1 Free” and the “Single Class”.



What to Bring

Honestly, I recommend bringing yourself dressed to workout (leggings and tank top prefered) and no sneakers. I recommend leggings because shorts will constantly rise up and up and up. Heads up there is NO SHOWER which is a little disappointing in my humble opinion. However, they have feminine products, hair ties, and bobby pins for take in the restroom.


I enjoyed the studio and will be back in the future. Here are some other Solidcore location for the DC locals out there!


🙌🙌🙌






Other Solid Core Locations











Let me know what's on your mind

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page